top of page

Thank You For Your Submissions!

Three Finalists will be announced

May 2019

Austin Playhouse is no longer accepting submissions for the 2019 Festival of New Texas Plays. Three winners will be selected and announced to the public in May 2019. The winners will receive public staged readings during the festival, August 15-18, 2019. Festival playwrights will be awarded a $500 prize. Winners of the 2018 festival were Eidophusikon by Reina Hardy, Nutshell by C. Denby Swanson, and Monroe by Lisa B. Thompson. Austin Playhouse opened their 2018-2019 season with the world premiere of Monroe.

Learn more about our past New Play Festivals!

Number of Plays Submitted



Submission Guidelines

-The submission period is now open. Only the first 150 submissions will be accepted. The submission period ends January 11, 2019, or when 150 qualifying scripts have been received.

-Full-length drama or comedy (total 75 to 150-minute running time)

-Previously unproduced (up to two staged readings/workshops are permissible)

-Entrant must be a resident of Texas and over the age of 18.

-No evaluations will be rendered with any rejected entries.

-Author (and collaborator, if any) may submit only one script.

-Entries that have been previously submitted to Austin Playhouse ARE eligible, but only if the

work has been substantially re-written.

-Musicals, children plays, translations/adaptations, and film/tv scripts are not accepted.


Administrative Guidelines

-Legibly typed in 12-point Times New Roman or similar in standard 8½” × 11″ play format with 1″ margins.

-Include with submission a separate pdf that includes a brief synopsis of the play (200-word

maximum) and brief author bio.

-Submit one email that includes the play and the synopsis/bio (pdf only) to with the subject header “New Play Festival.”

-Plays not following the guidelines listed above will be disqualified.

-Austin Playhouse will have right of first refusal for finalist scripts for full production in the 2019-2020 season. This right will be exercised or released by September 30, 2019.


Winning selections

-Up to ten finalists will be notified in May  and announced on our website by May 30th.

-Three winning entries will be presented in staged readings at Austin Playhouse from August 15-18, 2019. The three winning entries will also receive a $500 prize (required W-9 form will be supplied by Austin Playhouse).

-Playwright must be available to attend the reading. Austin Playhouse will select and provide cast and director.

-Playwrights are responsible for supplying updated and corrected copies of their script to Austin


Download the Guidelines 

bottom of page